College Football Playoffs: Clemson, Georgia, Oklahoma, and Alabama earn way in


There was no lack of controversy heading into college football selection day. Specifically:  Would it be Alabama or Ohio State that earned the final playoff berth?

Despite a loss to Auburn in recent weeks, Alabama is heading back to the college football playoff, much to the chagrin of Buckeye fans.

It was a difficult decision for the committee, considering that Ohio State captured the Big 10 title Saturday. Alabama did not qualify for the SEC title game.

The reigning national champion Clemson Tigers earned the first berth in the playoffs, and will have the opportunity to win back-to-back titles. 

Oklahoma is perhaps the hottest team in the country and rolled to a Big 12 title behind Heisman hopeful Baker Mayfield. The Sooners landed in the second playoff berth.

The Georgia Bulldogs defeated Auburn in convincing fashion to capture the SEC championship, qualifying themselves for the third playoff berth.

Clemson and Alabama will play in the Sugar Bowl, while Oklahoma and Georgia battle it out in the Rose Bowl.


Contact Us