Women's World Cup

List of every FIFA Women's World Cup winner

After Spain defeated England in the Women’s World Cup final, let’s take a look at all the teams who have hoisted the prestigious trophy over the years

This article may have Spanish-language video from our Telemundo sister station.
NBC Universal, Inc.

The United States has been on the podium at the end of almost every Women's World Cup, but 2023 will prove to be an exception following the USWNT's loss to Sweden in the Round of 16 in Australia.

Spain defeated England in the 2023 Women's World Cup final on Sunday after securing semifinal victories this week. Each squad has a chance to make history by bringing home their country's first World Cup championship in women's soccer.

As the 2023 tournament winds down this weekend, here's a look at each of the winners in the history of the Women's World Cup.

Who has won the most Women’s World Cup titles?

1991 - United States 

Runner-up - Norway; Third place - Sweden

The U.S. won the first Women's World Cup, which at the time was called the FIFA World Championship for Women's Football, to officially establish its dominance in the sport. Michelle Akers scored both goals in a 2-1 win over Norway in the final, including the winner in the 78th minute.  

1995 - Norway

Runner-up - Germany; Third place - United States 

Norway edged the defending champion USWNTY 1-0 in the semifinals and then defeated Germany 2-0 in the final to become the first European winner of the Women's World Cup. 

1999 - United States

Runner-up - China; Third place - Brazil

In one of the most famous moments in the history of women's soccer, the U.S. defeated China in the final on a penalty shootout, with Brandi Chastain netting the winner on the team's fifth shot for a 0-0 (5-4) win. The U.S. won the Cup on home soil, with the final being held at the Rose Bowl in California. 

2003 - Germany

Runner-up - Sweden; Third place - United States

With a 2-1 win over Sweden in the final, Germany became the first country to have won both the women's and men's World Cup.  

2007 - Germany

Runner-up - Brazil; Third place - United States

Germany became the first women's team to repeat as World Cup champion, and just the third team overall, joining the men's teams in Italy and Brazil. Germany defeated Brazil 2-0 in the final and did not allow a goal in the entire tournament, outscoring opponents 21-0. 

2011 - Japan

Runner-up - United States; Third place - Sweden

Japan stunned Germany 1-0 in the quarterfinals, thwarting a potential World Cup three-peat. The team went on to defeat the United States in the final, tying the game late in extra time on Homare Sawa's goal and then winning a shootout 3-1.

2015 - United States

Runner-up - Japan; Third place - England

The U.S. became the first - and remains the only - three-time winner in the Women's World Cup. In a rematch of the 2011 final, the U.S. established an early lead over Japan by scoring four goals in the opening 16 minutes. Three of those goals were scored by Carli Lloyd, who recorded the fastest hat trick in the history of the World Cup

2019 - United States

Runner-up - Netherlands; Third place - Sweden

The U.S. went back-to-back for the first time, defeating the Netherlands 2-0 in the final for its fourth World Cup win. Megan Rapinoe opened the scoring with a goal on a penalty kick and Rose Lavelle scored minutes later to seal the win. 

2023 - Spain

Runner-up - England; Third place - Sweden

The 2023 Women's World Cup final, held in Sydney, Australia, was won by Spain. La Roja defeated England 1-0 for its first ever Women's World Cup title after Olga Carmona's goal in the 29th minute.

How many women's teams have won the World Cup?

Only five different countries have won the Women’s World Cup. 

The United States is most responsible for that, having won four of the nine Cups since the tournament began in 1991. Germany is the only other nation to have won multiple Women’s World Cups.

Here’s the full list of winners…

Women’s World Cup winners

  • United States, 4 (1991, 1999, 2015, 2019)
  • Germany, 2 (2003, 2007)
  • Norway (1995)
  • Japan (2011)
  • Spain (2023)
Contact Us