Nationals ace Max Scherzer wins National League Cy Young


NEW YORK - Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals has become the sixth pitcher to win the Cy Young Award in both leagues, taking the NL prize by a wide margin.

Scherzer led the majors with 284 strikeouts and topped the league with 20 wins. He beat out Chicago Cubs teammates Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks.

Scherzer drew 25 of the 30 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. The award was announced Wednesday on MLB Network.

After earning the AL honor in 2013 with Detroit, Scherzer joined Roger Clemens, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, Gaylord Perry and Roy Halladay as winners in both leagues.

Scherzer is the first pitcher from a Washington franchise to win a Cy Young. The award was first presented in 1956.

Contact Us