The race for NHL MVP so far: Auston Matthews still in top spot


There are less than two weeks left in the 2021-22 NHL regular season, and the race for the Hart Memorial Trophy, given to the NHL’s most valuable player, is coming to a close.

One candidate is beginning to run away with the award as the season’s end approaches. Connor McDavid won it last season after putting up 105 points in just 56 games. 

Who will the MVP be this year? Here is a look at the favorites to win the honor. 

Who is the favorite to win the Hart Memorial Trophy?

After winning the Hart last season, McDavid entered the 2021-22 season as the betting favorite to take it again, according to our partner, PointsBet. After falling to third, McDavid has jumped to second place.

Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs has extended his lead, jumping from -105 odds in early April to -400.

Here are the top favorites to win the NHL’s MVP:

Auston Matthews -400

Connor McDavid +500

Johnny Gaudreau +1000

Jonathan Huberdeau +1600

Igor Shesterkin +2200

Leon Draisaitl +4000

Aleksander Barkov +15000

Kirill Kaprizov +15000

Steven Stamkos +15000

Mitch Marner +15000

You can find all the odds for the Hart here

Who are the most recent winners of the Hart Memorial Trophy?

As mentioned earlier, McDavid took home the Hart last season, earning the honor for the second time in his career. He previously won the award in 2017. 

Here’s a look at those that have recently won the Hart Memorial Trophy. 

2021: Connor McDavid

2020: Leon Draisaitl

2019: Nikita Kucherov

2018: Taylor Hall

2017: Connor McDavid

Who has won the Hart Memorial Trophy the most in NHL history?

It shouldn’t come to a surprise that The Great One tops the list with the most ever Hart Memorial Trophy wins. Wayne Greztky finished his career winning the award nine times, including eight seasons in a row spanning from 1980 to 1987.  

Gordie Howe was named MVP six times in his career and Eddie Shore won it four. Those three are the only players in NHL history to win the Hart at least four times. 

There have been five players to win the award three times -- Alex Ovechkin, Bobby Clarke, Bobby Orr, Howie Morenz and Mario Lemeiux. And 11 players have been honored with the Hart twice in their careers, including Sidney Crosby, Dominik Hasek, Guy LaFleur and Mark Messier. 

Editor's note: All odds are provided by our partner, PointsBet. PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.

Contact Us